Time Marches On

Dad Hugs.JPG
My Dad and I sometime in the 80’s

UPDATE

On December 24, 2015 my Mother was moved from the South Calgary Hospital to CareWest Colonel Belcher Long Term Care facility and was reunited with her husband. In May 2016 my Father passed away.  While we will miss our Father forever the ONLY thing that made those last few months bearable was the fact that my parents were together. They lived in different wings of the building but my Mom was able to zoom to my Fathers room in her scooter anytime she wanted day or night.  I can say without a doubt in my mind that in the end,  for my Father, quality of life was holding his wife’s hand and having her by his side. They even had a few laughs.

I have been remiss in updating this blog. There is so much more to write about in regards to seniors care and personal dignity.  Since going through these various ‘episodes’ with my parents I have found it difficult to find the time and concentration to put ‘pen to paper’ so to speak.

In the meantime the crisis with seniors care and housing continues to tear families apart, destroy hope and impact the most vulnerable among us.  This week an almost identical situation hit the news about a couple in British Columbia.  http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/seniors-care-home-surrey-1.3735013    I encourage people to share the story about this couple in BC far and wide.  It just might help.

 

Leave a Reply

